top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTrinity Tarrow

The Art Of Writing A Sex Scene

I am a writer and reader of erotica and paranormal romance. I have found that there is an art to writing sex scenes. Have I mastered this art? Not even close. The day I feel as if I have mastered my writing on any level, is the day I need to put down my pen and paper and walk away. What I have learned, however, over the years is how to write an effective sex scene.


I have read some scenes that make me cringe and have caused me to put down the book, not so much because the scene itself was horribly written, but because of the words used to describe the human anatomy or the intimate act. In order for sex to be believable to the reader, the author needs to lose all inhabitations of writing an intimate scene between two characters. If the author is uncomfortable writing the scene, it will come across awkward and make it difficult for the reader to enjoy the scene as well.


The following are some tips to writing a sex scene that have helped me in my own writing:


1. The sex needs to have purpose. Even in an erotica romance, the sex needs to move the story along. If there is no purpose to the scene, do not add it to the story.

2. The author MUST be able to remove themselves personally from the scene. You are writing an intimate scene between two characters, not yourself and another person (unless it is an autobiography).

3. Steer clear of using clinical words to describe the human anatomy or an intimate act. Clinic words often pull the reader out of the story.

4. Size really does matter. Unless you are teasing the reader for a more in depth scene later, do not force your characters to rush the moment or leave out details. The more details given to the reader, the more believable the act.

5. Emotions are part of the act of sex. That does not mean that it is filled with love and gooey emotions, but there are emotions pulled forth from the physical connection. Do not leave emotions out.

6. Above all else, have fun with writing. Some of the more enjoyable scenes to write are those involving an act of intimacy.


Below is a link that will give you some examples of words to use when writing about the human anatomy or the act of sex. They have helped develop and improve my writing over the years. I hope these are useful to you as a writer.


Let the hot and heavy commence!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page